Performance Windows vs Mac

Announcement of new releases, bugs, support, suggestions
strawbale

Performance Windows vs Mac

Post by strawbale »

I'm a newbie starting with the trial version on a DPReview forum member's Panasonic G80 & G9 files (full size focus bracketing jpegs and raws, as well as post focus 4k & 6k video files) to test these camera models as potential upgrade (from my small sensor compact, that doesn't do focus bracketing nor post focus video) and to (then) purchase HF.

As a side effect of doing the same stacks on my Mac Mini (2018, i5-8500B 6 core, 8GB RAM, Intel UHD 630, SSD, 10.14.6) as the DPR forum member on his Windows PC (Win 10, i7-8700K 6-core & hyperthreading, 32GB RAM, GeForce RTX 2080, SSD) I/we noticed the considerable performance difference:

Windows vs Mac:
Jpeg (43 20Mp files, 5MB) stacked (method B, R26, S3): 3 sec vs 20 sec
Raw (44 20Mp RW2 files, 24MB) stacked (method B, R26, S3): 37 sec vs 4min10sec

Hence the Windows stacking was 6.7x faster. Is this to be expectected given the hardware differences or is HF on a Mac inherently slower?

During the stacking I noticed that all cores were used; apart from when the RW2 raw files were converted one by one with Adobe DNG converter, when only 1 core was used (hence that part took 3min45sec out of the 4min10sec total) - is that normal/to be expected?

Would a similar 6-core CPU with hyperthreading (e.g. Mac Mini's i7-8700B) be considerably faster (than my non-hyperthreading 6-core)?

The iGPU didn't seem to be used, so a (more powerful) video card doesn't make any/much difference?

The 8GB RAM seemed sufficient (for just one stack) as RAM was not swapped. Repeating several stacks forced RAM swapping though.

Thanks a lot in advance for any response!

PS: the slower performance on my current Mac Mini won't stop me from usinf HF - I'll just wait a bit longer :wink: (and maybe upgrade to 16GB RAM).
Catherine

Re: Performance Windows vs Mac

Post by Catherine »