choosing methods for stacking

Announcement of new releases, bugs, support, suggestions
PhilS

choosing methods for stacking

Post by PhilS »

I am ready to dig into stacking methods. I am studying the Helicon explanation page today.

https://www.heliconsoft.com/helicon-foc ... arameters/

What does surface level mean? Does a big change in surface level mean a nearby object right next to (in the image) a far-away object?

Thanks,

Phil
nick123

Re: choosing methods for stacking

Post by nick123 »

I think the docs are referring to relative depth (height in this example). Consider the image fragments below with leads and pins that are some distance above a surface. The first two are using process B and C. In either process you may see halos due to lack of in focus information around (in this case) foreground edges. if the nearest objects are in focus there is a blurred table below, and an in focus table has blurred and bloated pins above.
B-and-C.jpg
B-and-C.jpg (269.71 KiB) Viewed 1096 times
In the retouching tab there is an option to show a depth map, and this can be useful to show issues in the processing (notice the sudden jumps in the depth map tone around the pins and in a few other places where there isn't a sharp depth change in reality).
depth-map-snip.jpg
depth-map-snip.jpg (77.29 KiB) Viewed 1096 times
Would be nice if there was a "halo mask" feature that output a mask for the likely problematic areas to help in subsequent retouching but there isn't, so halo reducing may require manual effort in an editor but is doable. e.g.
final-snip.JPG
final-snip.JPG (56.61 KiB) Viewed 1096 times
PhilS

Post by PhilS »

Thanks, Nick.

The halo-reducing retouching is sometimes doable, but often there is no good nearby in-focus material for cloning. Even in your example of good retouching there are places where it's fuzzy around the pins. See, for example the area around the third pin from the right.