Trinamic + Microscope

General discussions, bugs, support, suggestions
Post Reply
TravisH
Posts: 5
Joined: 26.03.2016 13:24

Trinamic + Microscope

Post by TravisH » 16.04.2016 05:41

Hi All,

it has taken me way too long, but I finally got around to getting all the bits and pieces I needed to start automating my microscope focus stacking. I ended up getting a Trinamic controller board, and using my own stepper motor since it worked out a lot cheaper than doing the whole Trinamic unit.

I have just started to use it, and have to say I LOVE IT, the software is fantastic to use with the Trinamic controller, and with that and the combination of the live view I don't even bother using the microscope eye peices anymore, all done through the PC.

I have still got to learn how to get the best out of it, and clean my microscope lol but the first one I had a go at was a dark field for Harpacticus.

Well done on a great peice of software!
Attachments
20160416-Harpacticus (Clyde Basin).jpg
20160416-Harpacticus (Clyde Basin).jpg (61.75 KiB) Viewed 5828 times

MikeCT
Posts: 116
Joined: 08.04.2014 19:56

Re: Trinamic + Microscope

Post by MikeCT » 23.04.2016 15:15

Would you be willing to post the details on how you put this together?

Thanks

TravisH
Posts: 5
Joined: 26.03.2016 13:24

Re: Trinamic + Microscope

Post by TravisH » 27.04.2016 03:10

Sure, I will try and take some pictures this week and share with the group.

perspectiveimage
Posts: 2
Joined: 24.07.2016 02:10

Re: Trinamic + Microscope

Post by perspectiveimage » 24.07.2016 02:16

I would be very interested in seeing how you actually connected the FTDI interface and the camera. It's not entirely clear to me what needs to be done from looking at Helicon's support pages or those from Trinamic. Just a simple block diagram would do if you could send that out.

Thanks,

Mark

User avatar
Stas Yatsenko
Posts: 3850
Joined: 06.05.2009 14:05
Contact:

Re: Trinamic + Microscope

Post by Stas Yatsenko » 25.07.2016 13:59

What exactly would you like us to clarify? The software side should be simple - it's plug-and-play. Connect the camera via USB, connect Stackshot via its own USB lead (if you've got the current device, TMCM-1141) or via FTDI serial-to-USB converter (if your Trinamic is old). Launch Helicon Remote and start working.

perspectiveimage
Posts: 2
Joined: 24.07.2016 02:10

Re: Trinamic + Microscope

Post by perspectiveimage » 29.07.2016 21:00

Thanks. I'm just planning this out and thought that there might be more to it. I've just ordered the Trinamic board and cable and am anxious to try this. I love the latest versions of Remote and Focus. Helicon has done a really great job with the software!

Post Reply