Panorama with Helicon focus

Optical microscopes + digital photography
Post Reply
rainerteubner
Posts: 2
Joined: 24.08.2022 08:44

Panorama with Helicon focus

Post by rainerteubner »

Hello,

I have problems with the panorama-function in Helicon focus. Loading the pictures in Helicon focus worked well, but the rendering of the panorama resulted not in an panorama, as in ICE from Microsoft, but in a strip of pictures. The pictures to be processed were not in a square-like order, (10 rows, 10 columms) but had diffenrent numbers (8 columms, 10 columms, 12 colummns), as the objekt (a cut through an stem of an plant, Aristolochia macrophylla) war not precisely in square-format.

Kind regards

Rainer
User avatar
Catherine
Posts: 829
Joined: 29.04.2019 22:38

Re: Panorama with Helicon focus

Post by Catherine »

Hello Rainer,

Helicon Focus only supports rectangular arrangements, you need to correctly specify the number of rows and columns, and select the shooting order. You can either remove extra images to make it a rectangle, or pad with empty (e. g. black) images.
rainerteubner
Posts: 2
Joined: 24.08.2022 08:44

Re: Panorama with Helicon focus

Post by rainerteubner »

Hello Catherine,

thank You very much for Your answer.

The insertion of empty pictures is in my opinion not a good option, as the order of files is disturbed.
Instead of adding pictures I performed a simple test: a panorama, made out of three pictures in a single row. But this setup did not work properly, the three pictures were not properly aligned, there were horizontal differences. If I define a greater ammount of overlap, e.g. 40% horitontal overlap, the result is a catastrophe.

I fear, that I'm making a basic mistake.

I think, that I'm pampered by the confortable ICE from Microsoft.

Thank You very much for Your help.

Kind regards!

Rainer
Post Reply