Camera (Z6) not found

General discussions, bugs, support, suggestions
Post Reply
PerVindis
Posts: 2
Joined: 07.12.2022 17:38

Camera (Z6) not found

Post by PerVindis »

When I use my Nikon Z9 (with Mac-Sonoma 14.3) I can connect both the camera and WeMacro together and use WeMacro.

When I connect Nikon Z6 I can either:

- Use in Nikon mode without problems
- Get the error "Camera not connected" when in WeMacro mode.

What do I do wrong?

Per
Attachments
Skærmbillede 2024-02-08 kl. 13.52.56.png
Skærmbillede 2024-02-08 kl. 13.52.56.png (24.24 KiB) Viewed 155 times
Skærmbillede 2024-02-08 kl. 13.54.54.png
Skærmbillede 2024-02-08 kl. 13.54.54.png (19.23 KiB) Viewed 155 times
User avatar
Catherine
Posts: 1136
Joined: 29.04.2019 22:38

Re: Camera (Z6) not found

Post by Catherine »

Hello Per,

Please send a bug report (menu - Help - Report a bug) when the camera is connected and you get "No camera found" as shown on the screenshot.
PerVindis
Posts: 2
Joined: 07.12.2022 17:38

Re: Camera (Z6) not found

Post by PerVindis »

Alex wrote to me:
There is a problem on macOS (and iOS) that the operating system starts reading info about all the images on the memory card once the camera is connected, and there is no way to make it not do that. If there are many images, then this process takes a lot of time and the camera can barely do anything else in the meantime. It looks like this was the case for you. The solution is to either wait for it to finish (every time), which takes a while, or to not have many images on the card.
shutterbug
Posts: 37
Joined: 17.12.2022 15:14

Re: Camera (Z6) not found

Post by shutterbug »

PerVindis wrote: 13.02.2024 06:54 Alex wrote to me:
There is a problem on macOS (and iOS) that the operating system starts reading info about all the images on the memory card once the camera is connected, and there is no way to make it not do that. If there are many images, then this process takes a lot of time and the camera can barely do anything else in the meantime. It looks like this was the case for you. The solution is to either wait for it to finish (every time), which takes a while, or to not have many images on the card.

Shouldn't it be possible to set the tethering/connection protocol to not have the camera act as a memory card reader?
User avatar
Catherine
Posts: 1136
Joined: 29.04.2019 22:38

Re: Camera (Z6) not found

Post by Catherine »

No, it's not that. It acts as a camera, not a card reader, and it's not something we can do anything about.
Post Reply