Cannot reload projects

Shooting in macro mode, techniques, tips & tricks
dkfotas

Cannot reload projects

Post by dkfotas »

Hi - I am new to Helicon Focus and might not be doing something right. My understanding is that it is possible to save a project so that it could be worked on later on again. But it does not seem to work for me. Here is my workflow:

1. Export stack from Lightroom to Helicon Focus
2. Render
3. Retouch as needed
4. Save Project
5. Save an output image as TIF
6. Close Helicon Focus
7. Continue working in Lightroom

However, I needed to re-open Helicon Focus to make additional adjustments to the image. When I tried to re-load the Project file, I get an error with nothing in it (see attached).

Any suggestions would be most appreciated.
Attachments
Capture.JPG
(53.81 KiB) Not downloaded yet
Stas Yatsenko

Re: Cannot reload projects

Post by Stas Yatsenko »

Thanks for the report. Apparently, this happens when the link between the project file itself (.hproj) and the files it refers to is broken. For example, when you move the project file (.hproj) but forget to move the associated folder ([projectname_files]). Obviously, the error message should actually display a meaningful message - we'll fix that.
dkfotas

Post by dkfotas »

Hi Stas - the issue I am experiencing is that I do not move the project file or the folder. It is always in the same location. I would even save a new project, close Helicon and then re-open it and will not be able to load the project that I saved a min ago...

Should I be able to re-open projects even if I export stack from Lightroom and bring it back into Lightroom?

As you would appreciate, this is super urgent for me as I cannot stop and re-start working on a project at a later time - so I am forced to do all editing at once which could be very challenging with some of my stacks that have over 100 images and need a fair bit of retouching.